Approximately 27 people were arrested in Brazoria County for felony driving while intoxicated charges throughout the month of April, according to records from a public information request filed by the Chronicle.
In Texas, a person is charged with DWI if their blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08 or higher, according to the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT.)
Driving while intoxicated in Texas is usually considered a misdemeanor on the first two offenses. A person’s third DWI offense results in a felony charge. Drivers charged with a third DWI charge face up to $10,000 in fines, between two to 10 years in prison and can have their license suspended. Drivers can also face an annual fee up to $2,000 for three years to retain their license, according to TxDOT.
ROAD RAGE: Friendswood woman arrested after allegedly slapping 63-year-old driver
Of the 27 felony cases in April, five people were charged with DWI with a child passenger under 15 years old. Drivers that are charged with DWI with a child passenger can face fines up to $10,000, up to two years in prison and loss of their drivers license for 180 days, according to TxDOT.
See mug shots of the accused as well as their charges above…
Read more about how Houston is ‘ground zero’ for drugged and drunken driving at our premium experience available for subscribers at HoustonChronicle.com.
Rebecca Hennes covers community news. Read her on our breaking news site, Chron.com, and on our subscriber site, houstonchronicle.com. | email@example.com | Text CHRON to 77453 to receive breaking news alerts by text message